top of page

Why We Write

Discover why 1888's writers write. Peel back the skull's skin and dabble among the cogs and gears of the brain by reading through these essays written by members of 1888 Center's family.

Christopher Hitchens once said of writing, “It must not be the thing you would like to do, but it must be the thing you feel that you have to do. It must be that without which you could not live.” This quote sums up why I write.

For as long as I can remember I have needed to tell stories. Before I could write, I would tell stories to my mom through my toys. A few years later, I started writing stories set in the world of the video games I played and the movies I watched. Telling stories and writing was in my very marrow, and the path I believe I was always meant to take.

Another possible motivation could stem from my schooldays. As a child growing up in England I found school difficult. I was extremely introverted. Dealing with the other children, and even the educators, was a struggle for me. Therefore, I was not the most popular child. Even as a teenager, I was more interested in my writing than attempting to follow my peers’ taste in clothing or trailing the crowd to the local pub. I would ask myself, “Why? Why am I so different?” In time I would come to believe the reason for my individuality was because I was meant for something different—I was meant to be a writer.

Read the rest of Dean Moses' essay on 1888 Center.

Photo courtesy of creepingaroundhere via Flickr

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page